SMA Award winners 2019

06 September, 2019

Presented on 5 June 2019 at the ABTT Theatre Show, Alexandra Palace, London.

Our Special Guest  Jess Gow entertained a packed house with a funny and thought provoking speech, and special thanks to Hugh Comerford and The Stage, Richard Cuthbert and Charlotte Fenwick from Global Design Solutions, plus our friends at ABTT Theatre Show and Flints for all their generous support.

Individual Stage Manager Award

Winner: Julia Nimmo (Songlines – UK Tour, The Trick Tour)

Highly commended

Luke Girling When the Devil Comes Calling
Shona Wright Oliver Twist, Hull Truck

Also nominated

Benjamin Mowbray, Dominique Pierre-Louis, Georgina Pead, Jessica Thanki, Louise Anderson, Nicola Barrett, Sarah Alford-Smith, Thomas Gamble, Titch Gosling

Stage Management Team Award

Winner: Sarah Gentle, Lucy Topham, Rosalind Chappelle (Sheffield Theatres Season)

Highly commended

Anthony Field (CSM), Ian Andlaw (DSM), Cheryl Firth (ASM), Chris Carr (ASM) Sweet Charity

Jessica Thanki, Benjamin Mowbray We’re Going On A Bear Hunt Live

Also nominated

Nicola Barrett, Tom McLean-Smith, Nick Cooper, Laura Smith, Lindsay Innes, Chris Smith & Olivia Haw (Kinky Boots UK Tour), Nadia Javed, Chrissie Huxford, Laura Cunnick (SHREK The Musical UK Tour), OliviaDudley, Zoe Saunders (Love and Information Sheffield Crucible)

GDS Student Achievement

Winner: Rose Toner (Mountview Academy)

Highly commended

Charlotte Dukes Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama

Keira Dulake Guildford School of Acting, Surrey University

Also nominated

Eve Kershaw (Bristol Old Vic Theatre School) Rebecca Critch (Royal Birmingham Conservatoire), May Howard-Shigeno (Guildhall School of Music & Drama), Jessica Reid (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)

David Ayliff Awards for Lifetime Achievement in Stage Management

Andrew Killian (Opera, Stage Management and SM Training)

Ba Penney (Company and Stage Management)