SMA Award winners 2018

06 September, 2019

Presented on 6 June 2018 at the ABTT Theatre Show, Alexandra Palace, London. #NatSMAwards18


Individual Stage Manager Award

Winner: Sophie MacFadyen

ASM on Beowulf, The Velveteen Rabbit, Not Now Bernard
Nominated by Sarah Julie Pujo (CSM, Unicorn Theatre)

Highly commended

Suzie Foster CSM on Sleeping Beauty Chipping Norton Theatre
Nominated by: Will Treasure (Producer)

Jessica Thanki SM on Tales of Birbal, Mashi Theatre Ready or Not, Kali Theatre
Nominated by: Trina Haldar (Artistic Director, Mashi Theatre), Helena Bell (Artistic Director, Kali Theatre), Joan Blackham, Adam Karim (Actors, Ready or Not)

Tara Claxton DSM on The Mousetrap, St Martins Theatre
Nominated by: Benedick Blythe (Actor), John Caswell (SM)

Also nominated

Alix Henry, Jay Hirst, Nadia Luijten, Nicky Barrett, Kevin Smith, James Lovett, Jessica Cooper, Samson Robinson

Stage Management Team Award

Winner: Stevie Haighton CSM , Harriet Stewart DSM, Linnea Fridén Grønning ASM

The Assassination of Katie Hopkins, Theatr Clwyd
Nominated by: Hannah Lobb (Production Manager)

Highly commended

Hetti Curtis CSM, Laura Wilson DSM, David Putman ASM, Chloe Turner ASM
Julius Caesar, The Bridge Theatre
Nominated by: Katrina Gillroy (Technical Producer)

SM team and crew: Ali Wade CSM, Nicole “Tinky” Walker, Emma Duckett, Alaric Green, Tom Sweek, Kevin Wright, Simon Goodman, Ben Evans, Barnaby Hallam, Jonathan Robertson
Glengarry Glenross, Playhouse Theatre
Nominated by: Sam Yates (Director)

SM Team: Lisa Berrystone, Caoimhe Regan, Anthony Papamichael
An Octoroon, Orange Tree Theatre
Nominated by: Paul Miller (Artistic Director)

Shane Thom CSM, Nik Haffenden DSM, Jo Phipps ASM, Abbie Procter ASM
Angels in America, National Theatre
Nominated by: Harry Mackrill (Associate Director)

Also nominated

Maira Baker and team, Beautiful The Carole King Musical, Laura Draper and team, Girl From The North Country, SM team, The Ferryman, SM team, ENO spring season, Chris Hasketh and team, Tina Turner Musical, Cat Fabiano and team, Beowolf

Student Achievement

Winner: Ben Cook

BA Technical Theatre Arts SM Pathway, Guildhall
Nominated by: Gill Allen (TTA Programme Leader)

Highly commended

Emily Walters Stage Management, Rose Bruford College
Nominated by: Mark Simpson (Programme Director)

Cat Mackenzie BA Theatre Production, GSA/Surrey
Nominated by: Jo Franklin (Head of Technical Theatre Arts)

Eve Richardson BA(Hons) Stage Management, RCB/BCU
Nominated by: Jacqui Findlay (Course Director)

Also nominated

Katherine Coles (BOVTS), Rachel Stinton (BOVTS), Francesca Manktelow (Christ Church Canterbury)